Can Part-Time Employees Receive Worker’s Compensation?
Workers’ compensation is a vital part of our employment system. It’s a no-fault insurance that the vast majority of employers are required to carry to cover the injuries of those who are hurt in the course of their work-related duties. This means that no matter what the cause of your injury, if you are hurt while on the clock or in the course of your normal work, your medical needs should be covered.
Many people wonder, however, if part-time employees are eligible for workers’ compensation. The truth is, any regular employee is covered. Explore how workers’ compensation for part-time employees works in Georgia, and how to get the coverage you need for your injuries.
Who Carries Workers’ Compensation for Part-Time Employees?
Almost every employer who has more than three employees is required to carry workers’ compensation. This includes providing workers’ compensation for part-time employees.
You are covered by workers’ compensation insurance from the very first day you start work. Any worker who is unsure about whether or not they are covered at their current job can verify this coverage at the State Board of Workers’ Compensation website.
What Happens if You’re Injured on the Job?
If you’re hurt on the job, no matter what, even if you were just going to the bathroom, you should immediately report the incident to your employer, manager, supervisor or boss. You have up to 30 days to file a report, but the sooner you file, the better off you’ll be.
Your employer is required by law to post information in an easily-accessible area regarding approved medical providers. There must be a minimum of six doctors posted, or an approved Managed Care Organization with whom your employer contracts. In the latter case, your employer is required to give you a list of eligible providers under the network, as well as a toll-free, 24-hour contact number you can call for help scheduling a medical appointment.
What Is Covered?
Workers’ compensation in Georgia covers all medical bills, including hospital visits, doctor’s office visits, physical rehab and therapy, medications and necessary travel expenses. For injuries suffered after July 1, 2013, you are limited to 400 weeks of coverage, unless the injury is deemed to be catastrophic, in which case you can gain extended benefits.
If the injury keeps you down for more than a week, you will also gain weekly benefits to cover your lost wages. These benefits will be for two-thirds of your average wages each week, for a maximum of $575 per week. If you get another job with lower pay, you may receive a reduced benefit with a maximum of $383 per week. These benefits are based on injuries that occur after July 1, 2016.
Permanent Disability Benefits
If you are injured on a permanent basis, you will be granted weekly benefits, but the amount will be based on the exact nature and extent of your disability. Your doctor will use the AMA Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment to determine the nature of the disability, which will be used to determine the benefits you can receive.
What If My Benefits Are Denied?
It’s not unusual for workers’ compensation benefits to be denied upon initial request. There are a number of reasons why this can happen. This can be due to innocent mistakes—a missed filing deadline, an incomplete form or the like. Sometimes denials happen because the injury is challenged by the insurance company, who might doubt you are hurt as badly as you say. In other cases, the employer might deny your claim all together.
Whenever you have any problems with a claim of workers’ compensation for part-time employees or full-time, you should contact a qualified workers’ compensation attorney for help. Farrar, Hennesy & Tanner, LLC have been protecting Georgia’s injured since 1949. If you need help with your claim, call us today.